• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can microsoft afford to release another ME edition?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SuperMiguel

Super User
So we all know that Win ME was a disaster just plain bad.. now can they afford another failure?

I work as a software engineer developing food industry automated software, this year we bought around 30k computers for our clients, about 80% of them windows XP... Most of our clients dont want to upgrade they just dont want to... they have an old guy as an IT, that tells the CEO that anything higher than XP is bad and that their plant will be down alot since anything higher than XP sucks... so they believe him and they make us buy XP, they dont care about support since they have their own IT dep, so they dont need support from MS (thats what they claim).

The other 20% of the computers they have been running either OSX or linux... and this has happened in the pass 3 months.. More and more of our clients want a mac mini, or linux machine... While taking to one of the engineers of this newly transformed companies, he just said "MS wont support XP, and we dont like Win 8... we need a OS to run our plant not a stupid touch screen that feels like a game"

Also today google just passed MS in value (http://www.businessweek.com/news/20...s-microsoft-s-market-value-as-pc-loses-to-web) so while others are growing microsoft is stalling..

Im a believer that this is it for MS.. . Win8 its just an stupid idea... You just dont run a tablet OS in a computer it is just dumb! (IMO)

If I didn't play games I would most likely running Linux on my computer. As long as they are forcing users to use the metro/ Win 8 UI I won't be upgrading from win 7 any time soon. And this coming from someone who will be getting a copy for free from school.