• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can't upload Gmail attachments in Win7 Pro anymore--Stumped

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Viper69

Gmail won't let me upload attachments at all when using FireFox for some reason. I have been using this same FF version and Win7 Pro for many months.

The error I get from Gmail is "retry, remove, help" that's it.

I have FF version 18.0.2 (I don't want the new version because of the FF PDF viewer- I hate it, I prefer Adobe's).

I tried the same files and using IE v8.0 (no longer supported by Gmail) and uploading an attachment for email worked just fine.

I have the MOST recent version of Flash, that didn't fix it.

A few weeks ago using uploading attachments in Gmail worked fine. The past 2 weeks or so, I can't upload any type of attachment regardless of size.

I disabled ABP, KAV even Malewarebytes software, cleared all my cache- still nothing.

Tried FF in its safe mode- no change.

FINALLY, I restarted Win7 Pro in its Safe Mode w/networking- and instantly I was able to add attachments with FireFox (friend opened the documents too)

I haven't updated Windows in many months actually. So I'm stumped on this one, and I don't know Win7 well at all as this is my new rig with the first time I've used Win7 basically.

ANY IDEAS APPRECIATED???

Thanks in advance!!

Rename the Firefox profile so it starts completely clean. If that fixes the problem, then it something with your profile. If that doesn't fix it, do a clean install.

Rename the Firefox profile so it starts completely clean. If that fixes the problem, then it something with your profile. If that doesn't fix it, do a clean install.

Would creating a new profile be the same thing effectively tell me the same thing as renaming the profile?