• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Caseflow Conundrum for GPU cooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Max0r

I'm kind of new to case flow. In the past I just ran open case. But I'm already seeing somewhat of a benefit from caseflow on my new build, mostly in terms of stabilizing overall internal case temps, and on some things like motherboard chips, SSD, RAM, very good temp improvements. SSD being the most important out of that set of course. What I'm hoping to do, if someone with more expertise in the matter may assist, is to allow my video card to also benefit from case flow, if possible.

So I finally slapped my old GTX 1060 3GB into my new build. The new build is thermally excellent now even when pumping 230 watts through the CPU. The caseflow keeps it from turning into an oven. All the temps would be dandy. However, I'm finding that when maxing out the GPU around 113 watts or so, the only way to keep it at a "reasonable" sub 80 degree temperature is to run its fans at or near maximum, which I'd prefer not to do, since they both get rather noisy (enough to overpower my undervolted Deltas lol) and because it's probably doing a number on the bearings. On the other hand, the slower they run, the hotter the card gets, which may or may not be equally bad for the bearings. I'd prefer those stock fans to last as long as possible so I don't have to rip it apart and implement a new cooling solution anytime soon.