• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cheap i7 or i5... Upgrading from Pentium4

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TechJunky

So, I have a neighbor that has an old Pentium4 and I just couldn't stand to see him use that piece of junk anymore. I am a Server Engineer by trade so I had some extra parts laying around and I am trying to help him upgrade on a budget.

I supplied him with a 1TB WD Black drive, 8GB Corsair XMS3 memory, and a cheap Biostar motherboard.

We are planning to reuse his old Computer Case and he says he already has a 700w power supply laying around.

I found a i7 930 2.8ghz on amazon for around $200...

Is there a better performance/deal to be had that will last him another 4years?

He uses his computer only for email/web and handbrake.

Thanks guys!

With what you said, I think you should actually give him a AMD X4 Quad Core....

Only reason is that why should he need a i5 quad core, when he won't even utilize it all.

Give him a AMD Quad Core, which will still have him kept up for a bit, for what he does

AMD 965 3.4ghz Quad Core for $106 bucks cheapest brand new on ebay!

I don't think the motherboard is compatible...

BIOSTAR H61MGC LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Ohhhhhh. Right!

Well back to i5 intel!

I say do a sandy bridge i5 2400 3.1ghz quad core

Brand New on ebay for...$200..

Uhm. Okay. If you have a microcenter, you could just hook him up with the newer more powerful i5 3570k for $190...and you could overclock it when it starts to get rusty..but I seriously think with what he does, that computer on stock clock will last like 5-6 years..