• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Convert a Computer Power Supply to a regular Power Supply

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TehYoyo

Hey all,

Along with computers, I'm also very interested in photography.

A lot of times, lighting is needed for a scene, especially in studio. For that, lights are needed. But, they're expensive ($200+). So a lot of people make their own lights out of things like LEDs, etc.

I'm trying to make lights out of LED strips (Link here). For that, I need 12V DC power. I thought to myself "Whoah no way! PSUs output 12V of DC power!"

I'm not a good electrician (in fact, I know very, very little). Does anyone know how I might convert a power supply so I can hook up my lights (like a plug-and-play sort of thing).

I've read a few guides online, but I'm mostly confused about the outputs they're using (Link - what are the red things and how do they relate to LEDs?).

I can see in this guide that the blue wire is -12v and the yellow is +12v... could I just make a circuit out of that?

Thanks for the help,
TehYoyo

You'd want to just use the yellow (+12V) and black (ground) wires, -12v to +12v is 24v.

Your best bet is to wire the lights to use Molex type connectors (old HDD style), or to make adapters that convert whatever the lights want to Molex. Then you can simply jumpstart the PSU (ala Paperclip Test (see sig)) and plug them in.

If the lights draw a decent chunk of power you're going to want a PSU uses DC-DC secondaries, but there are tons that do that. Those PSUs are essentially 12 V PSUs with a pair of small PSUs inside that generate 5V and 3.3V.