• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling solution adapted to my needs

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pennarin

Registered
Total DIY computer noob here. Hi all :)

I will buy this very good rig, assemble it, tweak it, but won't overclock it because I want to run silent or near-silent cooling on it, with an option a year or two down the road to upgrade my system with more GPUs in SLI (same models as current but by then at a bargain price) and by overclocking the CPU and motherboard FSB.

By that point I will probably have to dish the passive liquid cooling system I would like to try (passive as in no fans), and go with stock Nvidia fans and a regular heatsink/fan combo on the CPU.

My goal is to get performance with low noise, and increased performance at low price down the road, with the sacrifice of switching to heatsink/fan to get the added heat but gaining a bigger noise profile.

...of course if this whole silent cooling scheme is crappo and won't work, I'll immediately overclock the rig to my heart's content ;)

What I'm lacking here is DIY exprience, judging heat production and dissipation through cooling solutions, that sort of thing. I have zero experience doing that, never having had a computer worth a damn.

My core system would be:
Core 2 Duo E8500 3GHz
EVGA nForce 750i SLI FTW
4 x 2GB 1066 DDR2 (Vista x64 Ultimate...of course)
1 x Geforce 9800 GTX
Toughpower 1000W

The passive watercooling for these specs, but with no overclocking:
Thermaltake Armor regular case fans
Zalman Resorator 1 v2
Waterblock on CPU, plus one of those sexy 9800 GTX custom '08 waterblocks from Germany
4 x Thermalright HR-07 memory heatsinks

Now my question: