• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Core 2 Quad Q9550 Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

fwilson789

Hello,

This is going to be my first attempt at building a computer. Since I'm new at this, I thought I should get some expert opinions. ;)

I am aware of the new Intel i7 processors, but the prices of the motherboards, DDR3, and the processors themselves are too high. For this reason, I've decided to go with an LGA 775 processor and motherboard.

This is sort of a budget build, but I'm looking for performance that would be sufficient for photo and video editing/encoding in HD and the occasional game. I'd also like to have the opportunity to overclock sometime in the future.

• HP 22X DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model 1170i - Retail
  • GIGABYTE GZ-X5BPD-500 Black SECC Steel / ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
  • EVGA 512-P3-N956-TR GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Retail
  • CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Retail (X2 for 8GB total)
  • GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80569Q9550 - Retail
  • Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3320613AS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Oh, and just one more question:

Should I really consider getting an aftermarket cooler? Are they really THAT much better?