• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Core Unlocker/Turbo Unlocker on ASUS board

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GTGaming

Hello Overclockers,

So this is my first real post on this forum, and all in all you seem like a great community. I have a lot of experience putting computers, not so much in overclocking though. I'm putting together a new gaming system and I am looking to overclock it eventually. Right now, I'm not comfortable doing it until I get a better PSU, and though I've read a lot on here and other places, I'd like to increase my knowledge base a bit more before I just dive right in.

ANYWAYS, I have an ASUS M4A88T-V EVO/USB 3 with a Phenom II X6 BE. The board has a turbo unlocker and core unlocker feature. I read about the Turbo Unlocker and someone from this forum suggested to use it if you don't plan on overclocking, but if you do, then don't.

Also, I've read people talking about how extra cores can be unlocked on certain CPUs. From searching on this forum, I'm a bit unclear on it. :confused:

So my questions are:

1) Why would you not want to use the turbo unlocker feature if you're overclocking? Would it not just make it faster overall anyway or would it cause it to become to unstable?

2) Does that CPU have extra cores to unlock or should I just leave that alone?

Thanks!

1- If you use overclock with turbo unclocker, you will get an unstable rig since the settings that you set in BIOS will not work for turbo settings.
2- No, the X6 doesn't have "extra" or hidden cores to unlock.

1- If you use overclock with turbo unclocker, you will get an unstable rig since the settings that you set in BIOS will not work for turbo settings.
2- No, the X6 doesn't have "extra" or hidden cores to unlock.