• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Create Double-Clickable Desktop Icon To Run Terminal Commands?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JohnnyGalaga

I’m running Ubuntu 20.04 inside of VMWare on a Windows 10 PC. I’m looking to create a desktop icon that you can double-click on to open a terminal window and run some commands. I believe this is called a “shell” file that ends in .sh? I’m new to Linux and am wondering if there’s a way to do this.
Basically, I want to double-click on a desktop icon and have it:
  1. Open a terminal window.
  2. Run cd op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps
  3. Run ./multi_rx.py -c hillsboroughwest.json -T hillsboroughwest.tsv -U -l http:0.0.0.0:8080 2> stderr.2 -X (this is a software application with command line arguments).
  4. Open a 2nd terminal window.
  5. Run cd op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps/oplog
  6. Run ./oplog.sh (another software application that works with the first one).
This is basically for convenience so as not to have to manually do all those steps everytime. Thanks.

You can open a terminal in your Linux VM with the keyboard: ctrl + alt + t, or use the menu to find the terminal icon, which BTW can be placed on your Linux desktop as well.

Your .bash_history is stored in your home directory, you can use the up /down arrow keyboard keys to recall previous commands. I use that all the time, not wanting to type the same lines over and over. Although using "./" you've installed that software and wouldn't have to repeat that operation, unless I'm missing something.

Last edited:
To add to Tim's excellent points you can make it a single click...not a double. I remember when years ago the memory of your past commands would get wiped on a reboot. Not sure if it stores them in a VM when Win reboots?