• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Custom Cooling HD4870x2 - could use some help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

crankyslap

My card ( ) is sometimes running too hot, but what bothers me even more is the amount of noise it makes with the stock cooler... if you're wondering just how bad it is;

I've sort of gotten used to it, but it's still very annoying so it's time to take action. The "Accelero Xtreme" I had my eye on has been discontinued, and besides watercooling there doesn't seem to be a real solution. Since I'm strapped for cash, it looks like I have to get creative.

But I'm new to this, so I'm looking for help.

At first, I found this:

Does this really work? And if so, how do I do it?

If I understand correctly:

-Cut two holes above the heatsinks
-Place two fans on it

But how do the fans hold? And I don't have any fan connections left on my mobo, is there something like a cord that you plug in the mobo, that on the other end provices 3 to 5 (or so) extra fan-connection-openings? (My explenations ROCK!)

Second, I found a guy doing this: but I'm not exactly sure what's going on there. is that like.. a fan with two heatsinks that just so happen to be placed exactly right to accomodate my cards GPU placements?

And then thirdly, I found this: http://www.overclock.net/t/429656/official-ati-radeon-hd4850x2-thread/290#post_5389206 which are 25 euros a pop. That's doable.

Looking forward to any info you guys have to offer on this!

What you can also try is a more "ghetto" home-made solution, something I did with my old 5950 Ultra till I bought the Zalman VF700.

Make like PCI support structure where you can mount, lets say dual 80mm fans with whatever you want/can (I used spare card brackets and duck tape) and then install it like if it was a PCI card below the GPU.