• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

De-lidding=Magic???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

M Diddy

So, as I'm pretty new to the Core i5-7's and overclocking, I thought things would be roughly the same as my old Q6600. Boy was I wrong. Built my new system, and re-installed my TRU-120X on my i7-4770k and thought I was getting great temps. Idle was around 29-30C. Then I started overclocking.

Good Lord. I don't know what the hell Intel did, but as soon as I applied a small overclock, went to 4.2 Ghz, everything else stock, I noticed that my idle temps were still fine, but as soon as I started Priming, using Small FFT's, the temps shot up over 100 C easy. Scared the hell out of me actually. It was then I realized the voltage was still running at it's stock 1.325 VCore. So, I turned down the voltage to 1.175 and started running a blend Prime. PC was stable for about 3 hours, but then crashed. Ok. Upped the volts to 1.185 and this time, was stable for over 4 (which is my normal amount to go by). Only, temps were still reaching up into the 90's, topping out at 95 C on two cores. It was then I decided to look into the whole de-lidding thing.

Did my research, ordered some CLP and also so PK-3, as the AS-5 I had was a little old and then got to work. Used the vice method to remove the heat spreader. Easy peasy. Cleaned everything up, applied a small layer of CLP on the die, and then a rice size dab of PK-3 on the IHS, and then re-installed my TRUE-120X. Good God! I'll let the pic speak for its' self, but this is after 2 hours of running P95 Blend with the same settings as before:

Capture.PNG