• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dead 1366 Motherboard??? D:

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

adamkollaris

Registered
Hi all!

So recently i build a entry spec gaming system for one of my friends. I have been building Pcs for several years now so this isnt new to me, i put all the parts together. Turned the Pc on and it worked fine, we installed Windows 7, updated drivers and installed software (The Pc needed to reboot a few times during these steps).

Specs:
CPU: i7 950
Mobo: GA-EX58-UD4 rev1
Video: MSI GT640 OC
PSU: 430w CoolerMaster (Unsure of model)
RAM: Kingston DDR3 1600Mhz

We could run games fine, all temps checked out OK and no blue screens or error occurred in the BIOS or OS while using the PC.

After a few hours of playing around with the Pc we shut it down, unplugged it and left the Pc on the workbench to continue the next day. The following afternoon we plugged the Pc back in, hit the power button and nothing, no boot, no BIOS, no beep errors, no spinning fans or LED lights on the board. It was as if the Pc wasnt getting power.

I straight away checked all connections (found nothing wrong), and tried another Power Cable (240v), the Pc booted! loaded windows and worked fine, so we turned the Pc off again to test, then once again it wouldnt boot at all, no lights, beeps etc.

From here i started to think something else may be the cause, so i did the following.

- Safe to assume a PSU failure, swapped the PSU for a 550w 25a, no boot
- cleared CMOS, no boot
- Removed the Battery, IT BOOTED UP, LOADED BIOS and asked to reboot, then stopped working again
- Reset BIOS again and left battery out to make sure defaults loaded, no boot
-Tried 2 spare power switches, no boot
- Checked all wiring for earth issues or shorts, no issues