• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

designing my own WB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LittlePiggie

This is my first attempt at designing my own WB and I need some feedback on the design. I have about half the money saved for milling right now, so in two paychecks I'll have it milled (if I still have my job. long story).

here are the preliminary renders:
block.jpg

block-exp.jpg

block-top.jpg

the chanels are half inch.
The base is 1mm

Im not to hot on the old water cooling, I was just wondering dont you need 1 tube in, and 1 tube out! How come you have 3, what dirction does itall flow??

Looks damn nice though..;)

ZedBias, on 3-barb blocks, the central hose barb is generally the inlet and the side barbs are exits. it makes for a very turbulent area of cool water directly above the die, where the heat needs to be dissipated the most.

The design looks very nice. It shouldn't be too expensive to machine since it'll be quick. You'll spend more time mounting the block and changing tools than you will actually cutting.

Any names for it yet? How about the "Hurricane?"

The flow splits in two and moves at half speed. The speed adds turbulence.

My personal opinion is to go for a desighn like carthars, or mine(avatar), or the "WHAT BLOCK" with a small baseplate, jet over the core, and exteme turbulence over the core.You can still have fun with it too, there are many difrent ways of increasing turbulence over the core.

overall if youve got a thin baseplate and a jet youl do pretty good, do what ever makes you most comfortable

I was thinking of cutting grooves over the core like:

blockfins.jpg

I like the added boost in performance people have seen with this design, but I'm not sure if my pump will make full use of it...also, it would add a considerable ammount to the cost of milling.