• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

die simulator - flawed?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

big_bertha

i was just thinking. is the die simulator flawed with the P4 benchmarks on overclockers.com or what. when i looked at the test on the page http://www.overclockers.com/tips263/index02.asp i saw that the copper block uses a contact area the same size as an athalon cpu. a p4 has that massive heat spreader. if the die simulator is smaller than an actual p4 chip isnt that going to skew the results. shouldnt there be a seperate copper block with a p4 sized contact area to test p4 heatsinks. maybe there is and i'm an idiot (remind me if i am. only way i will learn)

im not good with words but you know what i mean.

discuss?

also, if you put the p4 heatsink on the die simulator that had the surface area of an AMD would that advantage certain designs over others. can this account for various differences in the heat dispersion reported on the benchmarks as opposed to "real world" situations.

also. one last thing. how can one effectively compare a heatsink that gets .20 with a 70cfm with one that gets .34 with a 20cfm fan. reviews are good with the exception of comparisons being hard to make

Your logic is good. The die simulator should be covered with the IHS off of an intel chip for socket478 testing. This would be easy to do.

Obviously, heatsink comparisons with different fans are flawed, however each heatsink should be tested with its stock fan. Few people are willing to change fans on heatsinks. If the heatsink does not have a stock fan, it should be tested with a range of fans. It seems that most heatsinks of this type are tested in this mannner, at least on this website.

This post deleted by its "derogatory and insulting" author so that it will not be (so) necessary