• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

e8400 4.212ghz stable, next step ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hardup

Registered
So I have finally come to an OC I am happy with and willing to settle with =) The voltages as well as the temps all seem to be fine, as well as stay in check. It is currently 18 hours prime stable, and honestly, that is long enough for me.

Temps under load on Core1 dont pass 57c and on Core2 61c.

After achieveing a stable OC, what would you recommend I do with OCing my memory? This has to be the most unfamiliar area of OCing for me, as im new to it all honestly. This is my first built rig, and first time OCing.

Right now everything in the Bios for mem settings is at Auto, im not really sure where to go with timings, freq, and or any of that.

Current stable 18 hour prime OC.
4212ghzak3.jpg

No mattter what I do I can not get 4.3+ stable but just for the sake of it here is a 3Dmark score at 4.3ghz.
4320ghzbq9.jpg

Critiques and comments welcome. Should I be content with this and just stop now ? =)

Very very nice :)

If you want the cpu to last longer (2+ years) and don't really need the extra cpu power I'd see how low of a voltage you can get with a 4GHz OC. You could also try to find your max 'benching oc'. By that I mean how high your CPU will go just to run 3d06 or another benchie.

There is a lot of talk going around about 'cpu degredation' with the new 45nm cpus. 1.47V might be a tad too high for 24/7 use if you want the cpu to last a long time. However this is a hot debated topic because there really is no true concrete proof of how long they will last at certain voltages because they haven't been out that long.

But that OC is pretty freakin' sweet for your first OC, good job :)

Thank you Shiggity!