• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fastest Analysis Computer <$1000?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

shane1900

Hi,

I'm new to over-clocking and am looking for advice on what system you would buy based on these needs.

I need a PC to run a number crunching intensive program, will crunch numbers for a few days at a time. No frills, no monitor as will RDP in.

Guessing by this page that i7-4930k is best. Is this the best way to gauge computation power for number crunching only? (Intel is recommended for my software)
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/overclocked_cpus.html

- What system would you recommend for under $1000, what type of cooling?
- I don't want to build it myself, what company would you recommend?
- I read that Sandy procs are recommended over the newer ones as they run cooler, is this true? I need the highest CPU speed possible...

Thanks in advance,
Shane

Few things..

1. For a $1000, you can easily do 4930k which will be good.
2. If you have another company build it.. your not going to get a 4930k for $1000 (doubtful) or at least not fully running.
3. I do not believe (someone correct me if I am wrong) Sandy runs cooler, per-say. By the time you overclock, it runs considerably warmer, but it can overclock a lot more than the initial clock. As the 4k series is close to max clock, but may initially run warmer since so.
3.5. For cooling, I would say air if you go intel. As your other option is watercooling, but on your budget, your only going to get a small closed loop rad which can be a pain to install. And those only cool just as well as a same cost air cooler, then no worries about leakage, etc.

Building a PC is not bad at all and can save 50% of it's value.