• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

first gaming pc, a lot of doubts, plz some help :)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nautiluz92

Registered
Hi everyone, I’m new here and I’m choosing the parts ill buy for my new PC in July 15 or 20. Right now I’m studying computer science so I know a little about computer parts and new technologies. With Haswell processors in the local market, I’m looking for some help to make the right choice, so I hope you could help me with some of your knowledge and experience.

The first thing I’m having trouble with, is if I should buy a Haswell processor or an Ivy breach processor, that’s because for what I’ve read, the new architecture doesn’t represent a huge leap in performance and gets hotter than the previous architecture when you make some overclock. In the other hand with the new Haswell architecture is easier make some overclock because of the BLK multiplier, need less voltage to achieve higher speeds than the last generation and some reviews affirm that Haswell show a better performance with less MHz than the last generation with more MHz at the time that both of them are overclocked (for example a 3570k at 5 ghz have similar performance with a 4670k at 4.6 ghz). Then I have the chipset trouble, its worthy buy a z87 mobo? In my case, I’m not a person who makes a lot of upgrades to the pc, and I haven’t a lot of money so if I buy this pc, I think I won’t be buying a new one in almost 3 years, so the quality of Haswell of being future proof is something that I don’t know is its worthy for me.

Having this questions in mind, Ive made one build for each chipset, where the only difference is the mobo and the processor :p. the build is as follows:

1.5 TB HDD green WD
Asus maximus V formula
Msi 7950 twinfrost 3gb
Intel core i5 3570k
Corsair RAM 8gb at 2133