• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Time Water Cooling For Xeon E5 / Supermicro

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BobCochran

Registered
Hi!

I am new to the forum. I am also new to water cooling and I'm interested in getting advice on a new system I am planning to build. The purpose of the system is to give a friend a reasonable video editing workstation. The person also likes to work with very large Microsoft Excel workbooks.

The system I am thinking of is:

Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4 processor, LGA 2011-3 (2.2 Ghz, 10 cores). Optionally might go for an E5-2640 V4 which bumps the speed to 2.4 Ghz.

EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC video card

Supermicro X10SRA motherboard

Fractal Design Define R5 case

I want to liquid cool this new system but I'm not sure how to find a good cooling system. I've looked on Newegg.com at the liquid cooling systems offered by Corsair. Some reviewers say the pumps failed on their Corsair coolers, for example the H115i. This bothers me a lot, I'm not sure if it is a good option here. I've looked at the Koolance website, but there is such a variety of parts available, that I don't know what to get.

I have read your "Beginner's Guide", which seems to be from a few years ago, and I've watched the videos posted to the XSPC website. I notice on FrozenCPU.com that there are some possible XSPC kits.

I understood from reading that I need at least a CPU water block, a pump, a reservoir, a radiator, and coolant. Plus tubing and fittings to connect tubing to the water blocks.

My goal: first liquid cool the Xeon processor.

Then liquid cool the video card.

I'm not into overclocking but I do want my friend to have good performance.