• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First time watercooling questions...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ps2cho

Hi guys,

Looking at getting the Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 case which I want to throw some water cooling into it.

It supports a 280mm radiator at the top and 360mm radiator at the front....What should I consider?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139029

Since this is my first time, should I get an integrated res and radiator?
What about the pump?

This is my goal:
I want a high quality system that will last years.
I want it to be easily upgradeable if I switch CPU's and sockets etc.
CPU ONLY right now. BUT I want to be able to put the GPU later.

What recommendations can you guys give here?

Last edited:
Hey Ps2cho, have you had any previous experience with custom loops? One step at a time. Most of the products out there are quality products which will serve you long enough IF you maintain them properly and use the correct fluids and biocides. Any custom loop is easily upgradeable when it comes to blocks: get out the old, put the new one in, leak test, remove air from the system, run it! Now,for the pump I like Laing DDC 1T-Pro, 10W should do for your loop. I wouldn't go 360 rad since your case is not that big, and a general rule of the thumb is that you need an 120.1 rad for each block on your pc. So I would go 240 or 280 depending ofc on the heat dessipation I need. I would go for a 5,25" bay res rather than res/rad integrated.

Read the water cooling stickies is the first thing I would do...