• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fractal Design Define S and water cooling an i7-4790k with a single 140mm Rad

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OneNameLess

Hello guys,

Since I'm new to water cooling, and also these forums, please bear with me if this has been talked to death.

I've searched the forums and googled a lot and have not been able to find sufficient info on the topic.

I'm building a new system that will be used as a base for administering my server, gaming, watching movies, surfing etc. and I'm wondering what will be needed for this.

I'm going for a silent system, that can run cool 24/7 on my table, and also be able to overclock if I feel the need.

My old, soon to be a server computer, is running with a H100 for my i73930k and that is the extent of my firsthand experience with water cooling.

For the new system I thinking about taking a Fractal Design Define S case, a ASUS Maximus VII Impact with a , a i74790k and either a Titan X or a 980 Ti. The rest will be 16GB of good RAM and I have 4 or 5 SSD's lying around that will also go into the system. The system will be used with a 34" 3440x1440 monitor.

Finally I am looking at the Corsair AX860i as the PSU

Since I want a silent system I will not be using the top of the case for fans. It will be closed off.

Looking at the case I'm thinking that I will be able to run a 280 Rad with push pull for the GFX and then I will be able to squeeze a 140 Rad in that I could use to cool the CPU and also the entire motherboard with a full water cooling block.

I'm guessing that the 280 Rad should be sufficient for the GFX, but what about the 140 for the CPU? There is room for quite a thick Rad with push pull if that could help.