• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Galaxy S2 vs Xperia S - looking for a cheap upgrade

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rich'[ard]

Hey guys,
I'm just looking for some advice on the 2 phones above.
I know they're fairly old but there's nothing better for $30 cap (don't want to spend more since i'm a student). It's all we get here in Australia :santa:

Specs wise, the Xperia S seems to be a nicer phone. Better resolution, better camera. Only think i don't like is that it doesn't have a micro SD slot.
i'm not too fussed since the Xperia S internal storage is more than enough for the amount of music i listen to.
I'm looking to put custom roms on the phone straight away and i know you can't beat the support for Galaxy phones (using a Galaxy S atm)
After a quick look on XDA forums there seems to be decent support for the Xperia S with a few Jelly bean roms etc so pretty happy with that.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1950706

I'm currently using 160dpi on my Galaxy S so everything looks tiny. I'm no doubt going to do this to which ever phone i get because i hate the stock setting as everything looks huge. I'm bringing this up because i'm wondering; if i shrink the resolution on the Galaxy S2, will the Xperia S's native resolution still provide a better viewing experience? The Galaxy S2 is 480p whereas the Xperia S is 720p.

If anything, I can change again in 6 months or so, and i'd like to try out a Sony phone as they look pretty damn nice :attn:
So if the Xperia S is a worthy competitor i'd like to give it a shot, but if there's something i'm missing i'll stick to the trustworthy S2 for sure.

The 2 most important areas for me are specs and support for custom roms etc

Cheers for any suggestions!