• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Having issues installing my RAM

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deRav

Hi,

Could I please get some help. I'm trying to install my TeamGroup Elite 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C11 1600MHz Dual Channel, but the computer wont go any further that the initialization screen and keeps rebooting.

My specs are as follow:
Intel® Core™ i3-550 Processor (4M Cache, 3.20 GHz)
Assus P7H55-m le series motherboard
Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel
NVIDA GTX 460

I'm not really good at this so any help would be brilliant.

Also both RAM sticks and both slots work perfectly. Computer boots as regular with only one RAM stick installed, it refuses to boot with 2 though, so I'm at a complete loss.

it's set to auto i reckon.

If i set it to 1333, would the RAM work then? Would that create any issues?

Question then is if it's really that easy?

Also, if i turn down the hz is it then worth of swaping my Kinston 4gb with the TeamElite 8gb?

You have 8GB of Team, 4GB of Kingston. Same speed. So you'd gain 4GB of RAM. I haven't looked up the RAM to compare latencies, etc., and won't, but matching RAM is always best. Go into BIOS and change the 1600 to 1333. Take it for a test drive. Report back.

If he cant get in to the bios, he cant set the speed. I would put your old sticks in, and set the speed to 1333MHz, and 1.65v. Reboot to the bios. Shut down after. THEN put your new sticks in.

Are you installing these WITH your current sticks? As that could be a problem...

Installing the new sticks on their own.

Where do I set the voltage to 1.65? where should i be looking?

also I set it to 1333 hz (didnt set it to 1.65v, dont know how) and still didnt want to boot into windows.