• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hello Everyone! Having Trouble Overclocking RAM...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dimemmo

With my current system I am having trouble reaching the advertised speeds of my ram sticks. I currently have my 3070 overclocked with +220 on the core clock and +1000 on the memory clock with my i7 overclocked to 5.2ghz. I am new to overclocking and the highest I was able to overclock my ram was 3200mhz from the base 2666mhz. I currently have XMP enabled in bios but any time I try to go any higher my system fails to boot. My ram is advertised for 4000mhz and my motherboard is capable of speeds up to 4600mhz so I am not sure what I'm doing wrong here. If anyone has some tips it would be greatly appreciated!:salute:

What i7 is at 5.2 GHz? What motherboard, exactly? What RAM sticks, exacty? It's difficult to help without knowing (at least) the last two details. :)

Just because your board says 4600 doesn't mean you have the CPU(IMC) and memory kit to do it. Some settings will likely need to be changed. System Agent, VccIO, and DRAM voltage all likely need to be adjusted in some capacity to go higher... or loosen timings or both.

Please post screenshots of CPUz. The memory tab, and Spd tabs, please.

That said, I don't see a point in overclocking your RAM in the first place. DDR4 4000 is well past where you see notable gains in the first place. For fun and giggles or benchmarking competitions, let's get at it... otherwise................ :)

Last edited:
Sorry, I put all my specs in my profile. I will post those pictures when I get home from work.

Asus Tuf Z490 Plus
i7 10-7000k Comet Lake
Gigabyte 3070 Vision OC
4X 16gb Corsair Vengeance 4000mhz
Corsair H100i Pro Xt
500gb WD Black edition M.2
2TB Seagate HD
Corsair 750x Power Supply