• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help a complete newbie to overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zandareagle

Hello everyone! Like it says above I am a complete newbie to overclocking - have never done it before. I'm also not that good with computers, which I why I am seeking advice I guess. :)

I've read some articles online and watched a few videos but I still have plenty of questions.

Ok, a bit of background. Basically, I recently bought a Geforce 730 and I want to get the most use that I can out of it. Yeah, I know it is a terrible card (I was using a 275 before that) and it's a long story. :( But as I already have it, I might as well use it.

1. So I got MSI Afterburner and played around with it a bit. However, there was no noticeable improvement in the graphics or the framerate of the game I was playing at that time (Final Fantasy 14 to be exact) Am I doing something wrong?

2. When I use the Nvidia Control Panel, it goes up to a higher maximum core clock than MSI Afterburner can. Is this desirable? Should I not push it?

3. I should only adjust the memory clock when my core clock settings are stable right?

4. Is it ok to push the fan as high as it can go?

5. Would it be worth overclocking anything besides the GPU? (CPU etc)

Oh yeah, before I forget, some system specs :

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
System Manufacturer: INTEL_
System Model: DH61WW__
BIOS: IBA GE Slot 00C8 v1365 PXE 2.1 B
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2400 CPU @ 3.10GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.1GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4074MB RAM

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GT 730

I have some friends telling me that I should have just gotten a new PC but that's not an option right now. So I have to make do with what I have.