• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me choose and give me your vote for these Thermal Paste

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gakkuken

All;

I'm so sick of using the Artic Cooling MX-3, as they are just not friendly / easy to apply and I have narrow down to 3 replacements for it.

Thermalright Chill Factor III
Gelid Extreme
Thermaltake TG-1

If you have use any of these, please share some thoughts.

So you're looking more for ease of application and cost instead of trying to find which one gives 1 or 2 degrees difference in cooling?
I've used the TG-1, went on just fine for me, cured quickly too.

I only use Arctic Silver 5. I have used a number of other thermal pastes over the years, but once I tried AS5 for the first time I was sold on the stuff. I have no experience with any of the pastes you have listed there, but all things considered, it all falls down to your own personal preference. The ultimate difference in cooling efficiency between pastes isn't more than a few degrees anyway.

I had 0 issues applying MX-3 multiple times to CPUs and GPUs, I don't see how it could get any more friendly of put a larger rice-grain on the middle, smoosh + twist the HSF on it and clamp/screw down. /shrug.

Through the years I have tried numerous types of Thermal compound, I always seem to end up going back to AS-5 for the ease of application and the performance.

AS-5 is complete rubbish these days. It has high costs and doesn't perform anywhere near as good as MX-2.

Give Prolimatech PK-1 a try and realize just how old AS5 is now.

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/9..._Nano_Aluminum_Thermal_Compound_-_5_Gram.html

Skinnees review

Skinnelabs.com said: