• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me select RAM please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

skidawgz

Registered
Hi,

I've taken the time to read some before just hopping in and posting this. I want to purchase most likely 16GB of RAM for an i5-3570k setup + Gigabyte Z77 board. The setup is mostly a gaming machine for now, and I am aware games use barely over 4GB. I am also an engineering student and will be running a good amount of different simulation programs/compilers for coding. I couldn't afford an i7.

I plan to overclock to pretty safe levels, prbly aim for 4.6GHz or less. I just need help knowing what exactly I need to know to properly select the fastest RAM. Timings, voltage, CL to aim for and why. Does the advice change for 8GB?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Ram is ram for 99% of users really. I would just get a DDR3 1600MHz CL9 1.5v kit and call it a day. Just make sure there is clearance for your cooler is about the only concern. Getting faster ram than that, in most cases, will not make a difference.

Though with how you use it, you may want to test the effects on ram speed and your compiles/sims as that is one rare case that it may make a difference. Test it out and see before you pay a premium for ram speeds that will not benefit your uses.

Ram is ram for 99% of users really. I would just get a DDR3 1600MHz CL9 1.5v kit and call it a day. Just make sure there is clearance for your cooler is about the only concern. Getting faster ram than that, in most cases, will not make a difference.

Though with how you use it, you may want to test the effects on ram speed and your compiles/sims as that is one rare case that it may make a difference. Test it out and see before you pay a premium for ram speeds that will not benefit your uses.