• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[HELP] Overclocking Athlon II X4 630

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pcwhockey18

Registered
Hi there,

I am very new to the overclocking scene and have had an old Athlon II laying around so I figured I would see what I could get out of it in terms of performance. I have read a little but wanted to get pointed in the correct direction. I have ran a stress test with OCCT and have my HWMonitor screen shots

HWMonitor.PNG
HWMonitor1.PNG

My current hardware is:

ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3
Athlon II X4 630
8GB RAM Single Channel
Corsair CX750M PSU
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1070
Cryorig H7 Tower cooler
Phanteks Enthoo Pro PH-ES614P Case

Here are my CPU-Z Screens:

CPUZ-CPU.PNG
CPUZ-RAM.PNG

To be frank I am not sure where to begin. Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Paull, your core temps are maxing out at 36c and that gives you 20c or so of overclocking head room. I'm guessing socket/VRM temp is being reported by TMPIN0. You want that one to stay under about 70c during overclocking.

You'll want to go into bios and change the memory divider so that your RAM is running at 1066 instead of 1600 to give you some headroom since the RAM speed will grow as you increase the FSB. And you don't want the RAM to become the source of instability and sabotage the overclock before you get the cores overclocked very much. You need to realize that when CPU-z shows a DRAM Frequency of 800 mhz (rounded) that actually means your RAM is running at 1600 mhz. CPU-z is not reporting the DDR3 speed but the frequency of the memory bus which is half the rated speed of the RAM. So when you get through making that adjustment in bios you should see CPU-z report the DRAM Frequency as 533 mhz. Just double that number in your head to get the actual DDR3 speed.