• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with games not opening HP Reverb G2 VR Headset.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dfonda

Senior Golfer
So I have been banging my head against the wall for 2 days looking for a solution to why a few games will not open the in this VR headset (HP Reverb G2) They try to open then quit. The issue seems to be in the games in Steam as opposed to WMR software. Now admittedly I am a noob at VR and software isn't really my forte'.

The Hardware itself is high end #0 in sig. Alder Lake, RTX 3080. I have watched a lot of youtube on how to properly open games from a german guy I think he is...I would think that the software needed is opening itself but I do make sure it is open. WMR first, Steam, SteamVR, WMR for Steam...That is a lot of layers for one game...(I wished I had gotten the index) (No FB Oculus was out)

I started in sit environment so my wife (Wheelchair) could use it. Switched to a 5x7 in case that was an issue.

1) Things that work....Google Earth, Theblu, and a couple of other travel type apps ,free from the Windows Store. Also the VR Rooms, all work and the VR objects you can place in the rooms work.

2)Things that have not worked. First was Everest VR. It wasn't listed as working on the G2, but I figured it would. Tried to open but left me in the open expanse. I returned it for credit to Steam. Picked 2 more a set really Episode 1 and 2 of "The Gallery" listed as working in this headset. Same thing gets me to the EULA (About not crashing into things) but after accepting in 5 seconds or so leaves me in the expanse.

3) Things I tried this morning verified integrity of SteamVR (Properties/Files) and both games. No help.