• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with i5-8600k Overclock?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DeDefiance

So I've been asking around a few places to try and get some help with my i5-8600k overclock, and it feels like this CPU is the most temperamental thing in the world. I'm pretty new to OC so hopefully this isn't a really stupid error on my part.

The main problem I'm having is that I get constant bluescreens and freezes, and sometimes it just won't even boot into Windows with certain settings. People with exactly the same board and CPU as me are able to achieve 5Ghz with 1.4v, but I'm not even able to achieve 4.8Ghz with that.

These are my system specifications to give an idea of my system;
  • i5-8600k
  • ASRock z370 Extreme4
  • Corsair Dominator DDR4 8GB (x2)
  • Corsair RM 550x
  • GTX 1070
  • Corsair H60 AIO

These are the settings I'm currently using (And they are incredibly unstable. Basically they crash as soon as Prime95 starts. If I up it to 1.4 it makes no difference), however I've tried about every combination under the sun and basically anything other than stock is unstable.

Hopefully someone can provide some insight.