• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with picking a dual fan AIO

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SubPar

I'm posting from my phone so i'll give a rundown of what I need :) I have a coolermaster HAF-912 with a FX 4100 currently cooled by a coolermaster hyper 212 evo, good cooler allows me to run 4.2 over the summer without killing my power bill but I want MOAR! I want to push this chip as far as it will go with what I have (mobo M5A97 R2.0) my vrm temps are great <35 deg C(12-15 over ambient). I'm curious what if any 240 rads will fit in my case with minimal or no modding? Or should I just bite the bullet and go actual watercooling? I've been wanting to for quite awhile, would a nice 120mm rad perform as well as a 240 mm AIO? I need to read more but I figured I'd pick the brains of the well informed members at OCF first

Last edited:
My Thermaltake water 3.0 keeps my 3770 running at 4.1GHz cool even in a room that is 85°F. Temps are almost always below 70°C even running SETI@home 100% on all 8 cores.

What are your temps with the Evo at 4.2? I know of people that get 4.5 out of a Fx 6300 on an Evo.

Temps are <50 socket and <47 core I know I could push more with the EVO but I'm looking to keep the office it's in fairly cool (we spend a lot of time in there and I had to shutdown folding on my rig because it was superheating the room and the wife said WTF lol) which I why I want to go water as I understand it should be able to keep the temps lower than air but maybe I'm out to lunch?

You'll likely keep the temps of the Cpu lower by going to a quality AIO water setup but it will still be dissipating the same amount of wattage/heat so it's not going to be keeping the room any cooler. Ocing to 4.5 is only going to make matters worse regardless of the heatsink attached.