• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to OC 4790K & Maximus VII Hero to 4.6?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zen the Cynic

Registered
Hi,

I'm almost a total noob when it comes to overclocking, so will really appreciate it if someone can please tell me in very simple terms which settings and numbers I should use in BIOS to overclock a 4790K with a Maximus VII Hero motherboard from 4.4 provided by default turbo boost to a manual 4.6 ghz.

Please remember that I'm a noob and that I just want a quick and safe fix, no complicated things. When I had a 3820 I did manage to overclock to 4.6 by following this simple guide:

http://www.overclock.net/a/dummys-guide-to-x79-oc-asus

It would be great if someone has a similar guide which just shows the correct BIOS settings for getting a stable 4.6 using a 4790 with a Maximus VII Hero board.

I'm talking about a step-by-step guide, in the right order of things, like the one above which gives BIOS settings for a 4.6 oc regarding the 3820 in this simple way:

Ai Overclock Tuner: set to 'Manual'
BCLK: set to default, which is 100.000. Do not raise this value over 103.00
CPU Strap: set to 125MHz
Memory Frequency: It is recommended to keep the memory at its rated speeds
Turbo Ration: left it at 'By All Cores'
DRAM Timing Control: default setting for the RAM specifications here. One can also set these settings on 'Auto'.

And so on with the other BIOS settings too.

I'll but anyone a beer if they can provide a similar pedagogic presentation of overclocking the 4790 to 4.6 or 4.7 ghz with a Corsair H75.

Set your CPU Multi to 46X, set your vCore to 1.35V, save, boot to Windows, test with XTU.
I'm not sure the H75 will keep up with a 4790K at 4.6GHz though.

Make sure you keep the core temp under ~90°C all the time.