• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

how to set up a static IP adress?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ysfm17

Registered
Hi

I was trying to set up a static IP dress on my android phone, but whenever I do it I stay connected to the router but not internet connection.

This is my first time I try to set up a static Ip , I searched online how to so that , but still seems I don't do it right, so how to set up a static IP??

Are you trying to set up a static IP locally? i.e. 192.168.0.10
Or are you trying to set up a static IP for any internet access from anywhere you go? i.e. 76.70.285.996

Are you trying to actually assign 192.168.0.0? If so, that's your problem. You have to be in the range of 192.168.0.1-255 otherwise it won't work, I suggest not using .1 as that is typically reserved for the router.

No , am not using that , i was just using it as example for local ip.

I tried other as u said between 1-255 , always connected but no interned.

Is this all what I need to do , change the last part in the ip??
what about the gateway
and DNS?

- - - Updated - - -

No , am not using that , i was just using it as example for local ip.

I tried other as u said between 1-255 , always connected but no interned.

Is this all what I need to do , change the last part in the ip??
what about the gateway
and DNS?

ok so when you do that you have to specify the gateway, subnet ect.
ip address :192.168.0.2-254
subnet: 255.255.255.0
DNS server 192.168.0.1 (usually)
gateway: 192.168.0.1 (usually)

if the phone doesnt know the gateway address it doesnt know how to connect to the internet. make sure you have the router's ip address in the gateway spot in the static ip... likewise just go into your router and set the static ip in there assigning the ip address to your mac.