• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i5-2500K OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

orw

Hi there,

I have had my pc for a while now and I am now seriously considering overclocking my Intel i5-2500K on my Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard, so I can get more power out of it with my CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo - I would like something that I can run the CPU hard on for 10 hours max and that would be faster but stable and not get too hot. However, I am also very new to Overclocking so not exactly sure where to start. Any help very much appreciated.
My system;
Intel i5-2500k
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
Asus P8Z77-V LX
2 x 8GB HyperX Fury DDR3-1666 RAM
ZOTAC GTX970
Asus GT710
CoolerMaster CM550W

Thanks very much, from orw

Increase the clock speed a little at a time. Then core voltage increase a little at a time for stability when testing with RealBench v2.56, LINK: https://rog.asus.com/rog-pro/realbench-v2-leaderboard/ or prime95, LINK: https://www.mersenne.org/download/ You can go up to 90c processor temperature and 1.4v core voltage, whichever comes first.

So I should increase clock speed, and then voltage, and then clock speed, and the voltage again (and over again) or keep increasing clock speed till something (Not sure what) and then increase voltage to something(Also not sure what)?
Also, what about other things like DRAM and stuff like that and other voltages?

Core voltage or what we call "vcore" is the voltage being spoken of. CPU core voltage.

"Clock speed" is the bus frequency multiplier. Stock multiplier is 33x and bus frequency is 100 mhz. 33 X 100=3300 mhz which is your base (non turbo) frequency. You want to increase that multiplier.

In order to jump start your overclocking effort, I would recommend setting the multiplier to 37x (the turbo frequency) and your core voltage to 1.325.