• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i5 3570 running hot

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rowanlad

Registered
Hello all, this is my first post as I am quite new to CPU cooling and I had hoped some of the fine people here my be able to answer a question or two.

I bought my current rig in mid Nov 2012 from a custom PC company in Melbourne. It consists of a Ivy Bridge i5 3570 CPU on a Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H mobo with a nVidia 660 Ti GPU. Cooling was all Intel stock but despite this I was able to run Crysis 2-3 with temps barely reaching 40-50 degrees maximum (idle temps more like mid 30's as long as it wasn't 40 degrees outside). However, in the last ~4 months I have seen this creep upwards. Idle temps rose to ~45 degrees on average and load temps shot up to the high 80's.

When I first noticed the problem I thought perhaps the stock thermal paste was to blame. I thought perhaps it had degraded, and so quickly went out and bought whatever was on the local computer shop's shelf (terrible idea probably, but, I am learning) which was some $5.95 no brand compound.

After reading some guides I thoroughly cleaned the old compound off and put far too much of the stuff on. This had little effect on my temps except slightly increasing the load maximum somewhat. Next I cleaned it all off and tried a thin layer on the heatsink. I believe I put far too little on because this was a terrible result (prime95 pushed all 4 cores to 105 degrees before I could blink).

I cleaned this off too and tested the tried and true method of simply putting a small dollop on the CPU and locking it all down tight. This created the best result (still an idle average of around 45 degrees but Prime95 load temps down to about 70 degrees).