• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i9-7960X, 16 cores, HT: Why Prime95 produces more heat with 16 workers than 32?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kkm

I am building a workhorse computer for computing needs at work. The board is AsRock Taichi XE, and the CPU is the i9-7960X. I am not shooting for the best GHz, rather for a longer-term stability and a 3 year working life of the machine. My life is crunching numbers, not tuning hardware (although I have BSEE and MS in physics, so I have some ideas what I am tuning). At the very least, as a former physicist, I am taught very very well not to trust any measurement instrument. And now I see something that truly baffles me.

I am using prime95 to get the most heat out of the CPU. Currently I am charting the thermals (package power/hottest core) vs the number of workers on the same 8K FFT with AVX instructions disabled in prime95. What strikes me as super odd is that when I run 16 threads, I am getting the most power of the package, not when I run 32. All my runs are 2 minute ramp-up, then 10 minutes of measurement. I am using HWINFO, latest release, I believe, and reading the highest core Tj and package power reported by it. Sampling period is set to 500ms.

In either 16 or 32 tests, the core multipliers sit at x39. Core voltage does vary in units of mV, and is same within the margin of error in both 16 and 32 worker runs. Power min/max differ by a few watt over the 10 minute run. But. Here are the power dissipation results of an earlier run, before I tuned Vcore down:

16 workers cause the power dissipation of 265±4 W
32 workers 188±6W

That's a huge difference!