• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Idle temp too high

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bothoven

Registered
My cpu (athlon xp 3200+) idle temp is about 53C. I have a coolermaster aero 7+ heatsink and fan. I only have 1 rear exhaust fan in my case. Do you think the lack of case air flow can make that big of a diffarence. I have my Xaser III case coming tommorow.

yes...cases the have no air flow basically will get very warm inside and that is causing you heatsink to stay warm no matter how much air your fan is blowin on it..its blowin warm air on the sink basically

I have found that when the heat (idle) is high, its often the HS that is not on correctly. If your heavy load temps go real high, I would definitly check that Heat Sink.
I have seen this a few times. The HS is jacked up slitely on the socket back plate. It touches the CPU but not completly.
53C is very high for a idle temp unless your system temps are high into the 40s.. and I doubt it.

what does your system temp measure at? 53c idle is pretty high. I'd definitely doublecheck the heatsink and make sure it's mounted on properly.

i got my new thermaltake xaser III. and my idle is around 70C on 2 differant thermo's. The cpu fan is blowing(although not that fast and the heatsink is pretty cool. My case temp is 32C.

You must have your heatsink on wrong. Thats really high. Check for cracks in the core also. Clean it off and start over. Dont use alot of paste, or you will actually insulate the core. Just put enough to cover the core at about 1/32 of a inch if that.