• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i'm new to overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

slotty76

Registered
I have an abit ic7-g maxII board with 4 gig of hyperx pc 3200 ddr400 184 pin, prescott 3.0 800 mhz fsb 1m l2 , corsair 750 watt psu, evga geforce 7300 gt ddr2 512 mb agp 8x, xclio wind tunnel case, zallman cpu cooler :bang head probably leaving out important info???
anyway i tried some things i've read and every time i try to overclock it i get instability. mainly when i run graphics (hd video and games). I have to reset cmos at times and so on.
i dont fully understand the features of the board.
I could use some tips.
Thanks in adv.

Last edited:
First off, :welcome: to the forums if it hasn't been said yet.

I'll take the first guess on this one. Have you locked your PCI/AGP speed yet? Set it to 33mhz in the BIOS. If you haven't, it will scale with your FSB and most definitely lead to instability.

First off, :welcome: to the forums if it hasn't been said yet.

I'll take the first guess on this one. Have you locked your PCI/AGP speed yet? Set it to 33mhz in the BIOS. If you haven't, it will scale with your FSB and most definitely lead to instability.

Yes 66/33
dram? ratio 5:4 3:2 1:1 ??
had fsb up to 250 3.750mhz not too unstable with 3:2 ratio

core voltage 3.4625

ram 2.5 7 3 3 best so far but graphics seem like they fall behind?

Last edited:
Yes 66/33
not sure of bootstrap? ratio 5:4 3:2 1:1 ??
had fsb up to 250 3.750mhz not too unstable with 3:2 ratio

core voltage 3.4625

ram 2.5 7 3 3 best so far but graphics seem like they fall behind?