• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel i7 920 Overclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Crungus

Hello there. I'm new to this forum so you'll have the excuse any errors I make. Basically, I wanna Overclock my CPU since it currently sits at 2.66 Ghz. I'm completely new to overclooking and I've never done it in my life before. I ran a quick check with Speedfan to check the heat and this is the result I got. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
3ec3af04ffb033e58a657306df4ceba7.png

Here are my system specs:
CPU - Intel Core i7-920, 2.66 Ghz (Link: http://ark.intel.com/products/37147/Intel-Core-i7-920-Processor-8M-Cache-2_66-GHz-4_80-GTs-Intel-QPI)
GPU - GeForce GTX 750 (Link: http://www.nvidia.com/gtx-700-graphics-cards/gtx-750/)
Motherboard - ASUSTek P6T SE (Link: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P6T_SE/)
RAM - 12 GBytes of DDR3
Windows 7 (6.1) Professional 64-bit
DirectX 11.0

If you need any more specs, I'll gladly post them here and as I said, any help is appreciated, thank you.

Last edited:
Well before you start you want to make sure you have effective cooling
Beating the heat is job #1

what cooler are you using ?

I'm not sure. I got this PC for free from my mom's old workspace. Is there a way to check or will I have to open my PC? I know how to, I've replaced my GPU, CPU, Motherboard and Storage before.

I would assume it is a stock Intel
I would leave well enough alone unless you are willing to invest into a better cooler.

I have not air cooled since the 90's so I would look to a better source for a good one
I Know a lot speak highly of the CM 212 Evo, that may be out of fashion though ?