• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel Power limit removal and VCore Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ImTheDrunkTiger

Hi,

I am very new to intel, ive been messing around overclocking my old FX 8350 so I have a basic knowledge of using BIOS's ect. Ive just bought a 10700k and an MSI gaming edge wifi motherboard. I've been looking at loads of info online and its just making me more confused so I was hoping someone could help me clarify a couple of things. I'm not looking to overclock yet as the cpu was quite expensive so I want the warranty to run out first.

I want to make sure that my turbos stay on for as long as possible. I have an EK 360 aio and a 850W PSU (waiting for a 3080ti to make full use of that). I hear that if you remove the power limits by turning them all the way up, then you will get 5.1Ghz single core and 4.9Ghz all core. Is that correct and will they last indefinitely as long as temps stay under a certain value? What temps should I be looking to achieve?

Secondly I hear that the motherboards pump loads of Vcore voltage when set to auto. Is this true and is there a way to fix this? What voltages are usually good for the life of the CPU?

Sorry for being a noob but I feel this might be the best place to ask!

Cheers :D

That's not really what I said. The motherboard might already be removing the Intel spec power limits. Changes to the power settings may not be necessary. I would test it at stock first and go from there.

On the Intel side, most motherboards are pretty good with AUTO overclocking. Yes, they might be a bit generous with VCore, but the chances of an AUTO setting killing your CPU are slim. Fairly n00b proof. Welcome to the forums! :D

10700k Single Core Turbo Problems

Hi everyone,