• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is it ever a good idea to OC a relative's PC?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GamingDaemon

Hi Everyone,

I'm building a basic, vanilla PC for my sister-in-law. She isn't interested in overclocking, probably never heard the word before. But it's hard for me to build this rig, and leave the clock speed at 1.8GHz :)

On the other hand, she's several hundred miles away, and if something ever went wrong, then I'm not sure she would be able to fix it even if I was walking her through it.

So, question #1 is: Should I even bother overclocking her rig? I have never used the Gigabyte S3 mobo before. Is it easy to recover from OC problems?

Question #2 is: Given the answer to #1, and I am not overclocking her PC, should I use the stock fan or buy her a an after-market, like the Zalman 9700?

Here's the core components:

• Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-S3
  • Processor: Intel E4300
  • Memory: Patriot eXtreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin Model PDC22G6400LLK
  • PSU: HIPER HPU-4M480-PS ATX12V v2.2 480W Power Supply
  • DVD Burner: LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model LH-20A1L-05

Thanks in advance...

Just reaserch your possible motherbords "failed overclock behavior" and pick something that will just do something livable if your overclock fails ;)

(marked.. advice went up a notch starting with this post :) )

And what would she do if something went wrong that wasn't oc-related? Aha..so I say there's nothing wrong with a conservative and mild oc. Just don't try to push the components to their max.

i'd leave it stock. I certainly wouldn't want to send a family member off several hundred miles with an o/c'd rig. She'll have plenty of processing power as is.