• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is This Good Air Flow?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

stewie2552

Hey everyone!
This is my first time building a PC and I want your opinion as to whether this has proper air flow.

The basic build is:
i7 2600K (plan to overclock)
GTX 560 Ti 1GB (maybe overclock)

Here is my awesome diagram made in paint, amazing right?
Alright thanks for the input!

airflowdiagram.png

1) i dont like the idea of bringing air in past the radiator heating it , and then heating up all the "rest of the stuff" on the motherboard with it.
keep remembering that water cooling is only specific components, and can be ignoring something that can be hotter than what your water cooling.
they have awesome coverage motherboard chipset water coolers , but they cant cover everything.

2) the heat leaving the PSU is going to go back into any close suction point. especially the higher ones. in your picture depending on clearance and all the psu heat is going to loop right back into the case. and going to be warming the air going past the radiator.

3) heat rises, cold drops (however you want to say it) , even if it (kind of) pools and mixes and is more like a floating cloud , than a river.
so exit air should generally depart upward. out with the hot, in with the cold.
You have that covered with the top fan. not much of the hot air exiting out the top is going to loop back around into the case.

4) in the front you have a low intake, which should be good for cooling the hard drives, and (so far) will have minimal warm air mixing in and heading to that. so that looks good too.

when you do the pic in photoshop, color code the arrows :) for hot flow , and cold flow, it will improve your photoshop skills :)