• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

LanParty PRO875B how far can I go with 4 512 Geil DDR550 sticks and a 2.4c

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

robertway

Registered
Hey folks, I'm a newbie here in regard to posting but have been a reader for a month or so now, please excuse the long post but I wanted to give a history of what got me here to ask questions. I have just gotten myself the LanParty Pro875B board (04/09/2004 Canterwood) as well as 4 sticks of Geil Ultra Platinum PC4400 550MHz RAM and a 2.4c. I'm running everything under a 1/2" Water Cooled system with a DangerDen Maze 3 on the CPU and a DD Z-Chip block on the North Bridge. Sitting idle with the 2.4c @ default 200FSB I'm idling at 19C, about 1C above ambient in the room I'm in.

Now I do not claim to be ANY kind of OC wizard, but from all my reading and some previous OC work with an AMD 2500+ (sorry for mentioning the "A" word around here :beer: ) I have some basic knowledge about how to proceed but when I start to hit a barrier I kinda get lost. By the way the 2500+ was a pain if I may add since I was running Corsair PC3200 XMS memory on a Gigabyte board, another story though, anyway...

My expectations were to be able to run the Geil at its "rated" speed by setting the FSB to 275 with the ratio @ 1:1. Now I didn't do that straight away as I wanted to ease the system into the higher speeds so I started things with 225 on the FSB for a 2.7GHz and DDR450, well below what these components are capable of. Let everything run overnight with a burn-in using SiSoft Sandra 2004 and woke in the morning to find everythin fine. Running about 21-22C during the burn-in.