• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking for a $40-70 gaming headset

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deed

First off, I have been using the Rosewill RHM-6308's for a few years and enjoyed them even though the microphone wasn't the greatest. Recently a short developed and now the right earpiece no longer works and I'm looking for a replacement.

I have done a TON of research the past few days but haven't been able to find anything really worth getting other than these two headsets Rosewill RHTS-8206 and the Plantronics GameCom 780 but both seem to have some critical flaws. The 8206 based on reviews seems to have a good bass only in vibration mode, which affects talking on the mic. Being a heavy teamspeak user this won't work. It also seems to have iffy quality control.

The 780 seems to have a good mic and sound but suffers from a design flaw that makes it break in the same spot for a large number of people or simply fragile in general.

I need something that will last ideally a few years that would work with my use which is mostly heavy gaming and using sound to locate enemy, music while I read a few hours a day using spotify, some youtube shows and a lot of teamspeak. My on board sound card is very poor to say the least so I have been looking at the USB ones that have their own form of soundcard built in. But I am willing to try 3.5mm if absolutely necessary.

Review sites seem to be more focused on the super budget or the $100+ high end ones. Looking at specific threads, all of them seem to be too pricey (Closest to 50$ is preferred)
If anyone has any suggestions or ideas I'm all ears and truly appreciate the help.

Last edited: