• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

looking for advice/opinions on my new 930 OC!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gochuxp

Registered
I'm relatively new to overclocking and I just overclocked my i7-930 d0 stepping for the first time a couple days ago. I've had this new rig for a month and a half now. I've just got some questions/am looking for opinions/advice on my recent overclock.

Firstly, what I'm working with:
intel i7-930 d0 stepping
TRUE Rev. C with just a push setup (have a rear case fan right behind heatsink so kinda acts as a pull but its not directly on the sink)
as5 compound
asus p6t mobo
6gb (3x 2gb) ocz gold ddr-1600 ram (8-8-8-24)

at stock settings: my idle temps from realtemp are usually 31-39 C depending on ambient temp (its summer here so thats usually 23-32 C depending on time of day and whether I have my AC on or not)

Goal, OC to 3.8 GHz (181x21)

My methodology:

1. I first isolated bclk from memory and CPU (minimum dram multiplier and x12 for cpu)

slowly bumped up bclock by 10MHz and tested stability in prime95 (blend torture test) for 5 minutes. would keep moving up 10MHz until fail and then bump up CPU VTT if needed. did this slowly until i got to 190 MHz. then set back down to 181 MHz and ran prime 95 blend test for 7 hours w/ 0 errors. I happened to be 5 min stable on default CPU VTT (1.2 volts) for all bclock settings

2. I then set my dram timings to 8-8-8-24 1T and set my dram voltage to 1.64V (ram is 1.65V). since my bclock is 181, no way to hit 1600 exactly so i went with the 8x multiplier (ddr3-1448) and ran memtest86+ through a couple passes. no errors