• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking to upgrade my PC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

diabolical

Hi I am pretty new to this so please guide me out step by step!

I am looking to upgrade my 3 year old pc and I am looking for some suggestions.

PC current specs
i5-2500 @ 3.3 ghz
750w power supply (cannot check the exact model now)
MSI H61M-P32/W8
Cooler master elite 335
2x8gb DDR3 1333 RAM (Have 2x4gb DDR3 1333 RAM, wondering if I can mix them up and have 24gb total after upgrading)
ZOTAC GTX 970 4G
And probably 2 random fans here and there.
Samsung EVO 840 256GB

I am looking to upgrade to i7-4790k as I want to use my computer to run multiple games at the same time, most likely going to overclock to 4.4ghz. I am currently always getting 100% cpu load and CPU temperatures reaching up to 90 degrees on my i5-2500.
I can see that my current mobo cannot accomodate the i7-4790k so I am looking at a new mobo, particularly ASROCK Z97M PRO4. Can you advise me on whats the best mobo out there for my coolermaster case? Is there an advantage of getting the mini-ITX rather than a microATX if I were to use the same case?

Also, can anyone tell me whats the deal with USB 3.0? I know its just faster but what equipment do I need to use USB 3.0? The ASROCK Z97M has USB 3.0 ports but my case is really old and it just says its USB 2.0, do I need to buy adapters for it?

Thanks in advance!