• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PROJECT LOG Major DIY: Antec 300 + Phobya Xtreme 400: completed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mr Ripper

Registered
I thought I'll start by listing my before PC spec:

Current PC Spec:
Asus P5Q Deluxe w/2x2gb OCZ 8500 Reaper HPC 5-5-5-18
Q6600 @ 3.8ghz ~1.55v w/D-Tek Fuzion V2
AMD Radeon 7970
120gb Corsair Force3 SSD & 1TB 7200RPM Samsung SpinPoint F1
27" 2560x1440 IPS monitor.
Laing DCC 3.2 18w pump with XSPC Laing DDC Top Reservoir
Antec 300 case
Modded Antec 300 case with Alphacool NexXxos Xtreme II Rev2 mounted on top with 2x scythe 1200 rpm fans.

I've been running this system since ~August 2008. Although I've gone through several graphics cards (8800GTS,HD4870, HD6870) in this time and 1 motherboard (it got fried when my water pump failed and I tried plugging it into another motherboard header). I've been itching to upgrade as I find working on PCs quite fun, especially when it comes to drilling, cutting etc and the plumbing work with water cooling.

Before photos (pretty much like this the last 4 years):
01Case-Before1_zps373320f6.jpg

01Case-Before2_zps96968a1a.jpg

Here's a plain Antec case for reference:
ANTEC300_zps74ff6a6d.jpg

As I had some days off around Christmas / new years time I decided I wanted to work on my PC but the current generation of socket 1155 still doesn't quite seem worth it for me so I decided to upgrade the water cooling of my PC instead. I bought an AMD 7970 just under a year ago to go along with my 27" 2560x1440 IPS monitor with an intention to water cool it. I was just waiting until I upgrade my motherboard and CPU etc. So I decided to revamp my water cooling as this is usable on future upgrades and the 7970 is noisy under load.

I bought the following:
1x Phobya Xtreme 400mm Double Radiator