• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My insulation of annoying LGA775 24/7 (56k warn)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Nothing fancy...I was just switching CPU's in my daily driver today and thought I'd snap some pics of how it looks like under the hood in case it might help someone. I've been running like this for 9 months straight 24/7, so you know it works. Overkill, perhaps, messy, definitely, but it gives peace of mind. This is the Asus P5W-DH, one of the first boards to give LGA775 insulation such a bad name.

This is how I started out. This is all Armaflex tape, which is very similar to soft neoprene with an adhesive backing. You can cut it easily to any desired shape. As you can see, I cut it to fit some of the capacitors, and then stuck it on the board. Two layers, 1/8" apiece. I left the inductors and mosfets above alone, as they get hot while running and shouldn't be insulated. Everyone knows I'm a big fan of grease, and I gooped up the socket good with Vaseline. However, I didn't directly put much on the board itself.

insulation1.JPG

Pictured below is a 1/4" neoprene sheet, cut to fit the socket and allowing for the evaporator head. It goes above armaflex layer in the last post. Never mind all the imprints; they're only there because this gasket is already used.

insulation2.JPG

Last edited:
And this is how it looks flipped over and placed on top of the armaflex layer, with the CPU installed. The opening allows the evaporator head to touch the CPU, while blocking everything else for an airtight fit.

insulation3.JPG

Nice job Guatam :thup:

Good pics, I definitely had to think it over when trying to insulate my P5W-DH.

Messy, but gets the job done and thats all that matters :)

Approximately how much grease is that, Gautam?