• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

need hardware/software advice, turning two dells into one htpc

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

boorishid

Ok first off let me say I'm on a budget but can manage to buy some of the most important stuff straight up. Ice had an emotionally rough year which has led to low funds and lots of debt. I'm moving back home soon with my parents (sorta crappy after being alone for 5 years) there will be no cable in my bed room at least for a while, just no jack and my parents are gonna be jerks about running coax all over or phishing the walls(even though i was an electrician forever). Im use to a 280 dollar cable bill pretty much have every channel.

Any input would be great thats home theater related too. Such as should i just use an HDMI connection for video/sound or run the sound from the computers audio the video from a VGA port? Right now when i watch downloaded movies i just plug my netbook into the vga input on the tv the use a stereo cable to get the sound from the netbook headphone jack to the tv.

So heres what i would like the htpc to do asap.

• Watch Blu-Rays
  • Save Blu-Ray and DVDs and CDs to storage (either locally or on a separate file sever). This isnt about pirating either i would just like to trash all my hard discs there clutter.
  • Watch HULU, Netflix, YouTube, and any other streaming content through a media interface (So far WMC in win7 seems like the best bet?)
  • Watch downloaded movies and podcasts, remmber downloaded videos are in all sorts of formats thats why i dont like streaming to my xbox it doesnt even support alot of popular codecs without using TVersity or whatever.
  • Play Wow and other light games in good quality, basically just older RPG and RTS stuff thats not on xbox

Eventually i would like tooo