• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

need help replacing my CPU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kaitlin4599

ok so i have an HP Z400 pc and i just bought a xeon w3690. http://cpuboss.com/cpu/Intel-Xeon-W3690

having only owned amd pc's where the chips had the pins and the cpu coolers clipped onto the socket retention thingy im not sure how to remove/replace my cpu below is some info you may need

will be using mx-2 for the thermal paste

this is my first time replacing a CPU since the old Pentium 4 days

2dehands computer, tweedehands computer, hp z400, 2dehands computers.JPG 8954_Asetek-Liquid-Cooler-for-HP-Z400-Workstation.jpg IMG_1361.jpg

Changing a CPU isn't too bad. You'll have to remove the cooler from the CPU first. Then I would clean the paste off of the current CPU before you remove it. Coffee filters work great if you have any.
Pay attention to the CPU orientation, they only go in one way and there should be a mark on one corner. Make a mental note so you put the new one in the same way.
Loosen the lever on the hold down and pull it back this should lift the hold down up and open it all the way
Pick the current CPU up by two sides of the green PCB and be careful not to drop it in the socket. The pins in there are fragile and bend very easily.
Put the other cpu in the same wat that one was and close the hold down
Put a dab of the new paste in the center of the CPU about the sixe of a big grain of rice should do. You need enough that it'll spread across the IHS when you tighten the cooler down.
Install the cooler by getting all 4 posts started then alternate corners diagnonally and tighten it down evenly i usually do about one turn for each at a time. It takes a bit of time but it sets the paste more evenly this way. Make sure everything is plugged back in and start it up.