• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My old 7 years system won't power up. Need help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Salamandrix

My old system:
Asus Z170 Formula III,
CPU: intel i7 6700k,
32GB Ram 3200.
A few M.2 and x3 SSD.
NVidia RTX 2070 Super
XFX 850W PSU.
Full Tower Corsair Graphite 780T.

So PC was off. We had an electrician coming to Pat Test the apartment. When he left the PC wouldn't Turn on. I don't believe it's related though. I've sensed my computer would soon start to fall as I build it on Feb 2016. But other than that, it was working like a charm.

I used to build thousands of new computers as I worked as an IT Tech and manager for many years.

The aura lights of the motherboard are on. But the system won't start. No beeps or error codes.
My first thought was the PSU went bad. Pressing the power button many times did nothing.
So I replaced the PSU with new Corsair RM1200x Shift I bought to upgrade this system(but on Thursday I'll receive the final component for my new system.).
Swapping the PSU did nothing... motherboard not starting only Aura lights.
Then I unplugged the power button cables but touching with a screwdriver both pins did nothing. Next day i turn on the PSU after connecting it again to the wall. Touch the pins and started up, but the monitor, network cable, mouse and keyboard were disconnected. So I powered it off, reconnected the monitor cable, mouse and keyboard and dead again.

CMOS battery problem: I've still haven't changed the battery as the motherboard is still inside the case and the Asus Formula VIII motherboard has a stupid bad design which leaves the battery hidden under the Armor/shield. To access the CMOS Battery I need to remove the back armor plate to be able to remove the front one.